web analytics
Sign in / Join

Vigan vies to become one of the "New 7 Wonders Cities" of the world

Vigan, Ilocos Sur - New 7 Wonders CitiesThe City of Vigan, a fourth class city in the province of Ilocos Sur, in the Philippines, is one of the 28 shortlisted finalists in the ongoing "New 7 Wonders Cities" global poll which is set to conclude on December 7, 2014. Organized by the New7Wonders Foundation based in Zurich, Switzerland, the global poll aims to select seven of the world's most popular cities in the world via online and SMS voting.

New7Wonders Foundation was also the organizer of the "New 7 Wonders of Nature" global poll in 2011. Our very own Puerto Princesa Underground River in Palawan was one of the seven winners of this poll.

A popular tourist destination, Vigan is known for its well-preserved Spanish colonial architecture. It became the first and only site in the Philippines to be included in UNESCO World Heritage list joining the ranks of Pyramids of Egypt, the Taj Mahal in India, the Great Wall of China, the Vatican, Paris and the Kremlin in 1999.

UNESCO described Vigan as an "exceptionally intact and well-preserved example of a European trading town in East and Southeast Asia. The architecture is truly reflective of its roots in both materials and design, in its fusion of Asian building design and construction with European colonial architecture and planning."

Like the other finalists, Vigan was selected from more than 1,200 nominees from over 220 countries. While other Philippine cities Iloilo and Cebu were also nominated, only Vigan made the cut to the 28 finalists.

The 28 finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  • Athens, Greece
  • Bangkok, Thailand
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Beirut, Lebanon
  • Casablanca, Morocco
  • Chicago, USA
  • Doha, Qatar
  • Durban, South Africa
  • Havana, Cuba
  • Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Istanbul, Turkey
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Kyoto, Japan
  • La Paz, Bolivia
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Mendoza, Argentina
  • Mexico City, Mexico
  • Mumbai, India
  • Perth, Australia
  • Phnom Penh, Cambodia
  • Prague, Czech Republic
  • Quito, Ecuador
  • Reykjavik, Iceland
  • St. Petersburg, Russia
  • Seoul, South Korea
  • Shenzhen, China
  • Vancouver, Canada
  • Vigan, Philippines

The 28 finalist will undergo three elimination phases determined by public voting. The list will be trimmed down to 21 on July 7, 2014 and then to 14 on October 7. From the final 14, the last phase of voting will run until the conclusion of the poll on December 7 and the announcement of the official "New 7 Wonders Cities" as chosen by hundreds of millions of votes from around the world, will be revealed.

To vote for Vigan, please visit www.new7wonders.com/en/cities. You need to choose 7 cities in order for your vote to be cast. You can also vote via SMS by texting VIGAN to 2929077, or by phone by following the instructions posted on the New7Wonders website.

Leave a reply

Also check out